Riverside County Barristers

Click here to view the Barristers Web site.

Barristers Column—October 2017

By Shumika Sookdeo

Shumika Sookdeo

Shumika Sookdeo

Board Member Q&A: Paul L. Lin

Paul was raised in Río Piedras, Puerto Rico. He currently resides in Moreno Valley with his beautiful wife. Paul earned his Juris Doctorate from California Southern Law School, located right here in Riverside. His private practice is exclusively criminal law.

What Paul appreciates about practicing law in Riverside is that it feels like any major city, but has the benefit of a small town community. In Riverside, it is typical to walk into a courtroom and know just about everyone, which Paul thinks is fantastic. This led to Paul quickly getting active in the legal community. Currently, he is the president-elect for the Asian Pacific American Lawyers of the Inland Empire (APALIE).

Paul started attending Barristers events and now heartily enjoys gathering with all of the members who are new attorneys. With the Barristers, Paul feels a sense of comradery among the members; smashing all challenges on our journey to create meaningful careers in law. Paul has had similar experiences in his involvement with other local organizations that strive to improve our legal and social community. Most importantly, Paul loves the synergy that the group has that enables us to work well together. Paul delights in the fact that not only do the Barristers work hard in the community; we also get together for social events to get to know one another on a more personal level.

As a new board member, Paul is looking forward to more opportunities to give back to the community, including helping to recruit more members, and creating a better pipeline for more students to get involved in our organization.

In his spare time, Paul likes to work out at the gym, perform yoga, rock climb, hike and eat. A fascinating fact about Paul is that he is the former national record holder for Puerto Rico in solving the 3x3x3 Rubik’s cube. The fastest he can solve it is in 17.42 seconds. Currently, he averages 30 seconds. He plans to get his title back one day. How awesome!

Paul L. Lin, Barristers

Paul L. Lin

Upcoming Events

On October 18, 2017, Barristers in conjunction with JAMS will be hosting an MCLE on “Best Practices in Mediation,” from 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m., at the JAMS office located at 3800 Concurs Street, # 320, Ontario, CA 91764. Food and drinks will be provided. The event is free for RCBA members; $20.00 for non-RCBA members. Please RSVP by October 16, 2017 to RCBABarristers@gmail.com.

Finally, please stay informed about Barristers events by joining our mailing list at http://www.riversidebarristers.org or follow Riverside Barristers on Facebook and LinkedIn. 

Shumika T. R. Sookdeo, managing attorney of Robinson Sookdeo Law, is a former president of Richard T. Fields Bar Association. She is a commissioner on the California Commission on Access to Justice. She is a also a board member of John M. Langston Bar Association and California Association of Black Lawyers.

© 2017 Riverside County Bar Association
All Rights Reserved
Riverside County Bar Association
4129 Main Street, Suite 100
Riverside, CA 92501
Telephone: (951) 682-1015
Email: rcba@riversidecountybar.com